Racing News, Results, Lies, Etc.

ISSA High School National Champs

Lindsay Allen from Benilde St. Margaretís and Dave Onan from Minnetonka qualified for the ISSA High School Single-handed National Championships September 29-30. 41 sailors representing 20 high schools from four states sailed in near perfect conditions on Wayzata Bay. The championship featured two divisions, Laser Standard and Laser Radial. Blake Middelton ran an excellent regatta completing 13 races in each division for a total of 26 races in the two-day event.

Lindsay Allen became the first woman to win the Laser Radial Division of the Midwest High School Single-handed Championships. Allen sailed very well on Saturday until a disastrous race 9 placing 18th that moved her from first overall to third, and out of a qualifying position, with only four races remaining in the regatta. Fortunately, Lindsay sailed a 4, 1, 2, and 6 on Sunday to move back into first overall beating out JB Turney of Lake Forest Academy, IL by only 7 points. Turney barely nipped Freshman Andrew Kean of Mounds Park Academy by finishing one place in front of him on the last race, the same margin he needed to secure second place and a berth to the Nationals.

Vincent Porter sailing for Loyola Academy dominated the Laser Standard Division winning 10 of the 13 races and the regatta by 49 points. This will be Porterís third straight trip to the Nationals and he will be considered one of the favorites to win.

Dave Onan sailed consistently throughout the regatta to finish a solid second and secure the second berth at the Nationals. Onan finished 10 points ahead of Cae Muller who is a senior at the Latin School of Chicago. Onan and Muller were tied going into Sunday with Muller ahead via the tiebreaker formula.

Onanís strategy was to sail his own race to the weather mark and then keep an eye on her. His strategy paid off, as Muller never was able to finish in front of Onan in the last four races of the event.

Allen and Onan train at the Lake Minnetonka Sailing School at their Wayzata Bay site. LMSS is host to seven local high schools and has been providing opportunities for high school students the past six years. LMSS would like to thank the Wayzata Yacht Club for hosting the high school program and this yearís Cressy Regatta.

Nothinís Finer Regatta

1) Lenny Krawcheck, South Carolina 2) Tommy Harken, South Carolina 3) Frank Hart, North Carolina 4) Bob Miller, Michigan 5) Jeff Surles, Gorgia 6) Tye Nordberg, Michigan 10) Doug Kiser, Ohio 13) Terry Mestan, Wisconsin 17) tom Wurster, Michigan.

MC Southerns

Four good races back-to-back on Saturday and none on Sunday.

Winds were mainly NW 5-18 mph with big waves in Charleston Harbor. Races 3 and 4 were sailed in flood tide coming in from Fort Sumter. Thus, current had to be figured into your tactics especially being on time at the starting line and rounding marks. A lot of marks were hit during these races.

The winds seemed to be quite tricky also. There could be as much as 10 minutes of light wind and then 2 minutes of stronger winds.


1) Augie Berkow, Wisconsin 2) Tommy Harken, South Carolina 3) Jeff Annis, Gorgia 4) Charlie Usher, Gorgia 5) Eric Hood 9) Terry Mestan, Wisconsin 12) Tom Wurster, Michigan 15) Bob Miller, Michigan

2001 ILYA X Boat Championship Regatta 
Lake Geneva Yacht Club, WI 

Junior Fleet
1) Patrick Charlie Meier 2) Matthew Jacob Zea 3) Annie Lindsey Kent 4) Charlie Jake Schickeit 5) Zachary Adelaide Hester 6) Will Nick O'Hara 7) Matthew Robbie Johnson 8) Sara Kelly Maas 9) Wil Alex Engle 10) Patrick Danny Hodgman 11) David Cody Ziegler 12) Gordy Maj Williams 13) Bob J.R. Amato 14) Leif ALex Jerred 15) KC Brad Roble 16) Max Sam Sieh 17) Steven Alex Scoufis 18) Michael Garrett O'Brien 19) Brian Mary Connolly 20) Josh Drake Sprinkman 

Senior Fleet
1) Andrew David Thompson 2) Nathan Davis Porter 3) Ben Joe Kutschenreuter 4) Scott Alex Edberg 5) Jessica David Carlson 6) Corbett Clifford Porter 7) Liz Jennifer Zea 8) Kate Kristen Buckley 9) Matthew Patrick Egan 10) James Josh Garber 11) Patti Becky Schmidt 12) Tom Rachel Schroeder 13) Adrienne Katherine Tighe 14) Paul Anders 15) Meg Kerstin Klein 16) Anders Chris Marshall 17) Annie Bret Davenport 18) Micah Jack Schneck 19) Brendon Billy Buffington 20) J.P. Matt Wallis 21) Stacy Kari Hajinian 22) Erik Chris Bevan 23) David Nick Miller 24) AJ Nickole Hudson 25) Lisa Tess Ryan