Sailing News & Views

Steve Fossett Honoured as 2001 Rolex Yachtsman of the Year

American multihull sailor and adventure sportsman Steve Fossett was named 2001 Rolex Yachtsman of the Year. The world record-setting skipper of the 125’ (38m) maxi-catamaran PlayStation was cited by a distinguished panel of sailing journalists for his five new world records set during the past calendar year - Miami to New York, New York to the UK (TransAtlantic), the 24 Hour record, Round the Isle of Wight and Cowes - St. Malo (Cross Channel).

Established in 1961 by US Sailing and sponsored by Rolex Watch, USA since 1980, the Rolex Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year Awards annually recognizes outstanding on-the-water achievement for the calendar year just ended.

“I’m a happy, happy guy,” said Fossett. “It is very gratifying to be recognized by my peers in the sport, especially for the kind of sailing I do.”

The highlight of Steve’s year ws a new west to east TransAtlantic record, which Steve and his 9 man crew shattered in October - breaking the 11 year old mark by almost two days with a new mark of 4 days, 17 hours, 28 minutes, 6 seconds. It was the 24th attempt on Jet Services 5’s 1990 record - and, indeed the 4th by Steve and PlayStation since 1999. During this same passage they also broke the 24 Hour Record, raising that standard to 687.17 nautical miles (28.63 kts average speed).

Today’s press release from Rolex pointed out that Fossett, 57, is not only the “visionary” for his team but also its leader both on and off the water, and that this award recognition is in fact a victory “achieved on many different levels, including design, construction, weather routing, boat handling and speed.”

Midwest Collegiate Sailing Association Announces 2001 MCSA/Harken All District Sailors

Fourteen individuals were names as 2001 Midwest Collegiate Sailing Association/Harken All District Sailors at the MCSA’s 57th Annual Meeting at Miami University, Oxford, OH.

All District Sailor determination is based on regatta performance both in and out-of-district for a calendar year. Individuals representing any MCSA Member School is eligible. Nominations are collected late in the fall season, ballots are distributed to each Member School, and each Member School is allotted one vote, making the recognition an honor by the sailor’s peers. This was the third year for the MCSA All District Sailor recognition program.

Certificates for the individual and for the school, as well as an embroidered “2001 MCSA All-District Sailor” vest were provided by Harken, Inc. The honorees are:

MCSA All-District Co-ed Skipper:

Liam S. Cavanaugh, Northwestern University
Adam R. Dunki-Jacobs, Ohio State University
Bora Gulari, University of Michigan
Tim Krech, University of Minnesota
Nathan Marshall, University of Michigan
Kelly S. Reese, Miami University

MCSA All-District Woman Skipper:

Kathryn R. Kaltz, University of Michigan
Jamie L. Kraus, Marquette University
Kelly S. Reese, Miami University

MCSA All-District Crews:

Abigail M. Conover, Purdue University
Jamie L. Gwidt, University of Wisconsin
Anna F. Keefer, University of Michigan
Molly L. Rosenblatt, University of Minnesota
Tania M. Ruiz de Luzuriaga, Northwestern University
C. Anne Scheuerman, University of Minnesota

Individual competition records, bios, and photos are available on the MCSA’s web site at:

The Midwest Collegiate Sailing Association, a member district of the Inter-Collegiate Sailing Association of North America, currently has 23 member colleges and Universities with over 3000 sailors and over 700 registered competitiors. Its 2002 regatta schedule features nearly 100 events, including about 30 in the Midwest.