2001 MC Scow National Championship

On the 31st anniversary of this event 75 sailors from eleven states hauled their boats to Strom Thurmond Lake for a grand reunion and championship racing.

Races 1 and 2 were held in moderate breezes on Thursday, May 31st with David Fox and Andy Burdick recording wins. Three races were recorded on Friday in similar winds. Race honors went to Scott Slocum and two for Andy Burdick. Saturday morning showed threatening weather but passed by without harm. The two races were held in stiff winds and building seas. Andy Burdick capped his championship with a win in Race 6, while Ted and Amy Keller claimed Race 7.

Top finisher were as follows:

1) Andy Burdick, Zenda, WI. 
Honor: 1st Pro and Overal Champion 
2) Justin Hood, Spring Lake, MI 
Honor: 1st Amatuer 
3) Scott Slocum, Richardson, TX 
4) Ted keller, Powell, OH 
5) Peter Fox, Noblesville, IN 
6) Jeremy Pape, Flowery Branch, GA 
7) Rick Trester, West Bend, WI 

Honor: 1st Master 
8) John Bates, Rowlett, TX 
9) Tim Fredman, Hartland, WI 
10) David Fox, Spring Lake, MI 
11) Brien Fox, Grand Rapids, MI 
12) Ed Durant, Augusta, GA 
13) Kyle Verplank, Spring Lake, MI 
14) Greg Gearing, Arlington, TX 
15) Jeff Annis, Augusta, GA 
16) Charles Lind, Heath, TX 
Honor: 1st Grand Master 
32) Duane Pierson, Whitehall, MI 
Honor: 1st Ancient Mariner 
61) Robert Protzman, Richardson, TX 
Honor: 1st Junior