2001 MC Scow Blue Chip Regatta

This 15th MC Scow Blue Chip regatta saw thirty-nine of the top MC sailors gathering at Spring Lake, Michigan. Qualification for this event included individual performance throughout the 2001 MC Scow racing season. Results from more than 45 regattas were used to issue invitations to this year’s participants. Scoring was based on four races over the two days.


1) Justin Hood, Grand Haven, MI.; 2) Brian Heimsch, Brookside, WI.; 3) Brett Hatton, Spring Lake, MI; 4) Zack Clayton, Mukwonago, WI.; 5) David Fox, Spring Lake, MI.; 6) Brian McMurray, Whitehall, MI.; 7) Jeff Annis, Augusta, GA.; 8) Kyle Verplank, Spring Lake, MI.; 9) Dan Fink, Muskego, WI.; 10) Kevin Neal, Winnetka, IL.

Top Grand Master) Gary Verplank, Spring Lake, MI.; Top Junior) Jamie Kimball, Grand Rapids, MI.; Top Master) Tom Schmidt, Fontana, WI.; Top Ancient Mariner) Bill Freytag, Fontana, WI.; Top Woman) Lynn James, Spring Lake, MI.