Rolex US-IRC National Championship Set for the Midwest
Little Traverse Yacht Club's 48th Annual Regatta Doubles as US-IRC's Pinnacle Event

Little Traverse Yacht Club's (LTYC) 48th Annual Regatta and One Design Series, fondly known as the “Ugotta Regatta” that follows the Mackinac Races each year, will attract extra attention this year when it doubles as the second Rolex US-IRC National Championship. Scheduled for Friday through Sunday, July 25-27, 2008, the event will take place on Little Traverse Bay, Lake Michigan, adjacent to Harbor Springs, Mich., where the LTYC is located.

“As more and more sailors encourage us in the expansion of the IRC Rule,” said US-IRC Executive Director John Mendez, “it is appropriate that we move events around the country to enable more competitors to participate. This year celebrates the 100th running of the Chicago-Mac race, which is a sound reason to follow that event with the Rolex US-IRC National Championship in the Midwest this year.”

Mendez encouraged all competitors to enter early, as many Mackinac race boats are expected to make the approximately 50 nm delivery to Harbor Springs for the event, and the fleet will be limited to 50 in IRC Division 1, where the battle for the Rolex US-IRC National crown will ensue. (One-design classes with a minimum of 10 boats will be given separate starts.) There also will be a PHRF Division 2 (with the same boat minimum required for a separate one-design start) sailing for the 2008 LTYC PHRF Regatta title.

IRC Division 1 (and any and all one-design classes, including for PHRF) will sail all three days, while PHRF Division II will sail only Saturday and Sunday. Scheduled are three windward-leeward races on Friday; a traditional “Tour of the Bay” race of 7-10 legs (weighted at 1.5 in scoring) on Saturday, followed by three windward-leeward races for all classes on Sunday. Three separate courses will be utilized for the windward-leeward races.

“Little Traverse Yacht Club, established in 1895, is one of the oldest yacht clubs in the Midwest and has a long history of commitment to innovation in sailing,” said Event Chair Kevin Farrell. “We are thrilled to host the 2008 Rolex US-IRC National Championship in Harbor Springs as part of the 48th LTYC Regatta and One Design Series.”

Early on-line entry deadline is no later than June 20, with late entries accepted through Friday, July 18, 2008. To access on-line registration, the NOR and more information, visit and follow the links to's interface.

IRC rating applications for US boats can be obtained from US SAILING ( and for boats from other nations at

The Storm Trysail Club's Block Island Race Week presented by Rolex hosted the inaugural Rolex US-IRC National Championship during its 22nd biennial running last June. Blue Yankee, Bob and Farley Towse's (Stamford, Conn.) Reichel/Pugh 66, won the event with a string of four victories in six races.
For more US-IRC information contact John Mendez,

Leukemia Cup 2007
White Bear Lake, MN
Sept. 14-16, 2007

C22 Fleet
1) Echo Too, Capri 22, Klopp/Mathewson; 2) Bakara, Capri 22, Michaud; 3) Voodoo Chile, Capri 22, Yearsley; 4) Lucky Duck, Capri 22, Drake; 5) Make My Day, Capri 22, Dugelman; 6) HausBoat, Capri 22, Witthaus; 7) Three Rings, Capri 22, Igielski; 8) Improv, Capri 22, Schwarz; 9) Carpe Diem, Capri 22, Preston; 10) Nauticlew, Capri 22, McCoy; 11) Y3K, Capri 22, Loomis.

Holder20 Fleet
1) Hold Her, Holder 20, Sorrentino; 2) Hobie One Kenobi, Holder 20, Gundlach; 3) Slainte, Holder 20, Whitney.

PHRF 1 Fleet
1) License 2 Chill, Harmony 22, Hegland; 2) Cyclone, Santana 23, Ruedenberg; 3) Priority, Starwind 223, Currier; 4) Jahazi-II, J-22, Shores; 5) Sails Tacks, Capri 18, Quirk; 6) Athena, Beneteau First 235, Beauchamp; 7) Surprise, Catalina 22 (SK), Kokko/Moris; 8) High on a Puff Too, Catalina 250, Riccardo.

Typhoon Fleet
1) Das Boot jr., Cape Dory Typhoon, Koenig; 2) Green Bean, Cape Dory Typhoon, Schultz; 3) Lost Pleiad, Cape Dory Typhoon, Robertshaw.

A-Scow Fleet

1) InnoVation, Tom Burton; 2) Type “A”, Jason Brown; 3) A Men, Hod Irvine; 4) Snitch, Ken Broen; 5) Hufflepuff, Lee Alnes; 6) Victory, Fletcher Driscoll; 7) Gryphon, George Hill; 8) Hedwig, Jon Morris; 9) Felix Felicis, Larry Pardee.

Lower Portsmouth Fleet
1) E-Scow, Loon-E-Tics, Tim Black; 2) Johnson 18, Madi, Sprouls; 3) E-Scow, The Big Trip, Matt Petersen; 4) Johnson 18, 1 Last Breath Blair Wicklund; 5) C-Scow, Sea Cow, Sean Wagner.

Multihull Fleet
1) ARC-22, RAIL GUN, Tom Haberman; 2) SuperCat 17, Wind Dancer, Neil Christenson; 3) ARC-22, Snoop-Dog, Craig Jennings; 4) Nacra 5.5 Uni, Mojo, Tom Garske; 5) SuperCat 15, Woodstock, Jon Kirschhoffer.

Upper Portsmouth Fleet
1) X-Boat, Rocket, Wheeler Morris; 2) X-Boat, Black Pearl, Eddie Cox; 3) X-Boat, X-JBW, Willy Crary; 4) O'Day Daysailor, Riff, Peter Schwarz; 5) Club 420, Legacy II, John Reed.


All contents are copyright (c) 2007 by Northern Breezes, Inc. All information contained within is deemed reliable but carries no guarantees. Reproduction of any part or whole of this publication in any form by mechanical or electronic means, including information retrieval is prohibited except by consent of the publisher.